Clarence is a city and local government area in Tasmania and is one of the three cities that constitute the Greater Hobart Area. The administrative centre of Clarence at Rosny Park is approximately 5 kilometres from the CBD of Hobart, with more than one third of the city remains untouched bushland. The City of Clarence was established in 1803 and now has a population of 55,085, making it the largest local government area within Greater Hobart. The Clarence City Council has existed in various forms since the area became a municipality in 1860, and is responsible for local government within the City. Despite the existence of small-scale manufacturing, agriculture, and viticulture, it is retail and government administration that provide the primary impetus of local economy. Clarence has a strong and active culture of arts, media and elite sports.

Glenorchy has the population of 46, 397. The city officially begins at Creek Road Newtown, in Hobart’s northern suburbs. The Glenorchy CBD is the focal point for retail, doctors and government services. The land was originally used for agriculture, but is now a largely suburban, working class area. It is the seat of the local government area of the same name, the City of Glenorchy. Glenorchy is also home to the Tasmanian Transport Museum.

Hobart is the capital and most populous city of the Australian island state of Tasmania. With a population of approximately 225,000, (51,570 Central) it is the second least populated Australian capital city. Founded in February 1804 as a penal colony, Hobart is Australia’s second oldest capital city after Sydney, New South Wales. The city is located in the state’s south-east on the estuary of the Derwent River, making it the most southern of Australia’s capital cities. Shipping is significant to the city’s economy. Hobart is the home port for the Antarctic activities of Australia and France, and is also a popular cruise ship destination during the summer months. The city also supports many other industries that include: catamaran builder Incat, zinc refinery Nyrstar, Cascade Brewery and Cadbury’s Chocolate Factory, Norske Skog and Wrest Point Casino. Hobart is known for its well-preserved historic architecture, much of it dating back to the Georgian and Victorian eras. It is has a strong and active culture that involve the Arts and Entertainment, Media, Events and Sports. Greater Hobart metropolitan area consists of five local government areas of which three, City of Hobart, City of Glenorchy and City of Clarence are designated as cities.