Launceston is a city in the north of Tasmania. Launceston is the second largest city in Tasmania after Hobart with a population of 86,633. It is one of Australia’s oldest cities after being settled in March 1806. Launceston has also been home to several firsts such as the first use of anaesthetic in the Southern Hemisphere, the first Australian city to have underground sewers and the first Australian city to be lit by hydroelectricity. Launceston is situated at the confluence of the South Esk River and the North Esk River, forming the Tamar River estuary. It is used for commercial and recreational shipping and boating. Launceston has a strong culture that involve arts and entertainment, sport and media. Along with being a major retail centre with an average of 75% of market share in surrounding local councils, Launceston is a major service centre for the north of Tasmania. Launceston serves as the commercial hub for the north of Tasmania, and like many parts of the state, is becoming a major tourist centre.

Devonport is situated at the mouth of the Mersey River, with a population of 25,259. Devonport is the major regional centre of the north-western part of the state. In 1890 a public vote united Torquay and Formby, and the settlements became the town of Devonport. Devonport is the southern terminus for the Spirit of Tasmania ferries – Spirit I and II travel the 11 hours to Melbourne. Devonport are very involved and passionate about their sport as they have teams in AFL, Rugby Union, Soccer, Athletics, Cricket, Hockey, Golf, Horseracing and more.

Burnie is a port city on the north-west coast of Tasmania. When founded in 1827, Burnie was named Emu Bay but it was renamed for William Burnie, a director of the Van Diemen’s Land Company. Burnie is the fourth largest city in Tasmania with a population of 21,851. Burnie was the main port for the west coast mines after the opening of the Emu Bay Railway in 1897. Burnie is also involved in both their sports and their media.